Visa-free travel starts between Turkey and Russia says Turkish Foreign Ministry.

Visa-free travel between Russia and Turkey goes into effect starting on 7th  August 2019 , said Turkish Foreign Ministry in a statement on Aug 7.

The measure is valid on a reciprocal basis for official and service passport holders as well as for international transport drivers, the statement said.

It also includes Turkish special passport holders.

“The agreement on visa exemption signed on May 12, 2010 was partially re-enacted as of Aug. 7, 2019. We expect the full implementation of the agreement,” added the statement.

Russia had suspended the visafree regime in late 2015, amid tensions over the downing of a Russian jet along the Turkish-Syrian border.

This July, Russian President Putin ordered the Foreign Ministry to send a notification to Turkish officials about this partial restoration of visafree travel.

“The Russian move allowing visafree travel to Turkish citizens is a result of warm relations and dialogue,” Turkish President Erdoğan said, hailing Russia‘s decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *