Sheikh Hasina has been re-elected Leader of the House for 11th parliament in Bangladesh

Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has been reelected Leader of the House unanimously for the 11th parliament.

The new MPs of Awami League reelected Hasina Leader of the House for the third consecutive term at the maiden meeting of the AL Parliamentary Party (ALPP) held at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban after their oath taking on Thursday.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader and its Advisory Council member Tofail Ahmed confirmed it while talking to reporters after the meeting.

However, the Deputy Leader of the House was not picked at this first meeting of the ALPP.

Tofail said Obaidul Quader proposed the name of AL president Sheikh Hasina for electing her the Leader of the House, while AL Advisory Council member Amir Hossain Amu seconded the proposal.

Later, all the AL MPs supported the proposal and greeted Sheikh Hasina with big claps.

Tofail said Hasina is going to be the Prime Minister for the fourth time as an internationally renowned politician and the leader of the mass people of Bangladesh. “With this, Bangladesh is going to enter the golden age for the next five years,” he added.

Noting that the people of Bangladesh had long been waiting for December 30, Tofail said people recognised Sheikh Hasina as the leader of mass people by casting votes for ‘Boat, the electoral symbol of Awami League, on December 30 the way they attained independence by voting for Boat in 1970.

Obaidul Quader mentioned that they only elected the Leader of the House at the meeting and said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina asked all to work together.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *