The hosts Russian team reaches at the 1/8 finals , other results of the group stage of the 2018 World Cup.

As a result of the group stage of the World Cup, the Russian team reached the 1/8 finals for the first time in history.

Russia made a dream start with a thumping 5-0 victory in their opening game against Saudi Arabia and then defeated Egypt (3:1). Having lost to Uruguay 3:0 Russia still made it to the 1/8 finals where it is going to face the Spanish team.

Germany’s failure to make it to the 1/8 finals became the main sensation of the group stage of the tournament. In the starting match the Germans lost 0:1 to the Mexicans, but thanks to the strong-willed victory over the Swedes (2: 1) they had a chance to enter the playoffs. To do this they had to beat the South Korean team, which was originally considered an outsider of the group having suffered two defeats earlier. However, defending champions Germany lost to South Korea 2:0.

The Argentines who played in the finals four years ago this time could hardly make it to the knockout stage. They had a disappointing draw with Iceland (1:1) and a thorough beating from Croatia (0:3). Only in the very end they pulled out a salutary victory in the game with the Nigerians (2:1). Team Argentina was too dependent on Lionel Messi, who has not shown his best game yet. It seems that the head coach Jorge Sampaoli does not handle the situation in the team at all, and, as they say, all decisions are really taken by Messi.

Final positions in groups

Group A: Uruguay leads with 9 points, Russia comes second with 6 points while Saudi Arabia ranks third with 3 points. The Egyptians lost all three matches (0).

Group D: Croatia (9 points), Argentina (4), Nigeria (3), Iceland (1).

Group G: Belgians won three matches and have 9 points, England scored 6 points, Tunisia has 3 points. Panama lost all three matches.

Group B: Spains leads with 5 points, Portugal comes second with 5 points, Iran comes third with 4 points, Morocco comes fourth (1).

Group C: France (7 points), Denmark (5), Peru (3), Australia (1).

Group E: Brazil (7 points), Switzerland (5), Serbia (3), Costa Rica (1).

Group F: Sweden (6 points), Mexico (6), South Korea (3), Germany (3).

Group H: Colombia (6), Japan (4), Senegal (4), Poland (3).

The games of the 1/8 finals:

Uruguay – Portugal (June 30, Sochi), France – Argentina (June 30, Kazan), Brazil – Mexico (July 2, Samara),

Belgium – Japan (July 2, Rostov-on-Don), Spain – Russia (July 1, Moscow, Luzhniki), Croatia – Denmark (July 1, Nizhny Novgorod),

Sweden – Switzerland (July 3, St. Petersburg), Colombia – England (July 3, Moscow, Spartacus).

Source- TASS


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *